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Are we, as arbiters, allowed to

activate the move counter in the

chess clock or not?

I will compare two different opinions

from two very experienced

International Arbiters, in particular IA

Javier Perez Llera and IA Marco

Biagioli. In a next article I will try to

make some conclusions by other

experienced arbiters.

The relevant articles in “the Laws of

Chess” according to this subject

which will be discussed are:

6.3.1 When using a chess clock,

each player must complete a

minimum number of moves or all

moves in an allotted period of time

including any additional amount of

time with each move. All these must

be specified in advance.

6.3.2 The time saved by a player

during one period is added to his

time available for the next period,

where applicable.

6.4 Immediately after a flag falls, the

requirements of Article 6.3.1 must

be checked.

12.6 The arbiter must not intervene

in a game except in cases described

by the Laws of Chess. He shall not

indicate the number of moves

completed, except in applying Article

8.5 when at least one flag has fallen.

The arbiter shall refrain from

informing a player that his opponent

has completed a move or that the

player has not pressed his clock.

First of all I will give the floor to IA

Javier Perez Llera, member of the

Spanish Arbiters’ Commission,

who is against the use of the

move counter. This is his opinion:

“The current standard rate of play for

FIDE competitions is 90 minutes for

the first 40 moves followed by 30

minutes for the rest of the game with

an addition of 30 seconds per move

starting from move one (FIDE

Handbook, C.07)
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The program available in the most

important electronic clocks has a

special characteristic. If the move

counter is activated the clock

automatically adds the time (30

minutes) available for the second

period when a player makes his 40th

move .

In my opinion this is a malfunction of

the clocks (or wrong setup, as you

like). In this article I will explain

some reasons supporting my

opinion. In the described

circumstances we must think about

two possibilities.

The first one is that the move made

was really the 40th move.



In this case, the player receives the

full information that the first control

has been fulfilled. This information is

against the Laws of chess. The

article 12.6 of the Laws of Chess

forbids that the higher authority in

the game (the arbiter) informs the

players about the number of moves

completed. Why should the clock

inform about it? You must remember

that the control isn’t the number of

moves made, it is the time. The

article 6.4 (Laws of Chess) says that

we need to do the check of the

moves completed when the flag falls

(when the time finished…). The

control isn’t a “number of moves

control”, it is a “time control”.

The second possibility (more

complex) occurs when the move

made wasn’t the 40th move. This

may occur by some problems with a

bad configuration of the clocks, a

wrong initial position of the push

buttons, some wrong taps on the

clocks and others (every arbiter can

give several examples).

Conclusion by
IA Javier Perez Llera

In my opinion, we must not use
the move counter to add the
time of the 2nd period (doing
the manual setup of the clock to
add the time when the time of
the first control finished)..

Even more I believe that this
working way of the clocks
should be forbidden, because:
a) it is clearly against the rules
b) the problems can be worse
than the advantages.”

Arbiters'
corner

22Newsletter November 2019

In these cases it could be necessary

to change the move counter to

reflect the correct number of the

moves (disturbing the related game

and the adjacent games…), but in

some cases the arbiter doesn’t know

the problem and it is only expressed

exactly at the moment to add the

time. For example, a double pushing

of the clocks without moving (to

relocate a position or because a

player push the adjacent clock or

others reasons...) has as

consequence on the increment of 30

seconds for both the players (a

minor problem) and the increment of

the move counter. Especially, we

can have more problems in games

involving juniors and low-rated

players. Usually, the professional

players have a correct score sheet

and they exactly know the number of

moves made. Currently, some

colleagues think that the clock

(using the move counter) isn’t a

“time counter”, it’s a “pushing

counter”.
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“First of all, I think we should

consider that the first reason to say

we can use the move counter is that

no rule forbids or prevents it.

Usually, colleagues who think the

use of the move counter is not

allowed refer to art. 6.4 which

quotes a fallen flag. But the case is

very different from the ordinary

situation in which the flag doesn’t fall

at all and the players pass the time

control by making the 40th move

and just continue to play.

In this normal circumstance, the

applicable art. is 6.3 (Laws of

Chess) which states exactly the

opposite: “the time saved by a

player during one period is added to

his time available for the next period,

where applicable”. It is totally

obvious that, if the move counter is

not in use there’s no time saved

because the available time for the

second period starts to down count

only after the main time is totally

expired.

Some years ago there was some

proposal to introduce a specific use

to prevent the use of the move

counter, but it was rejected.

Some other colleagues think that the

move counter shouldn’t be used

because of the information given

when the additional time is added to

the main one, which is supposed to

be an “unfair” information to the

player about the number of the

moves. But in fact, the move counter

is eventually a push counter so

there’s no information in it except

the number of time the players

pressed the clock.

In case they used the clock properly,

this information is the same coming

from the score sheet, so no

additional “unfair” or forbidden

information is added. In case the

clock was wrongly used, then no

information again is given.

However, according to IA Marco Biagioli, member of ECU Arbiters’ Council and
Secretary of Italian Arbiters’ Commission, for sure arbiters can use the move
counter. This is his opinion:

Opinion of
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This second opportunity reveals that

the arbiters didn’t made their job

checking the clocks periodically if

they didn’t realise there were

something bad in the score sheet

comparing to the displayed time.

And here we come to the last

objection: If there is something

wrong and the arbiters don’t realise

it, the use of the move counter make

the things more complicated than

not using it, or, in other words, the

move counter creates problems.



Having it in mind that every problem

which is not discovered by the

arbiters by checking the clocks

periodically reveals a bad job of

them, and not by the clocks, in my

experience there are more problems

without the move counter, starting

from the consideration that its use

has become something common

through the years and then the

players expect it to be used. This

means they would require the

assistance of the arbiters every time

they reach the 40th move and the

increment is not given. This also

means several handling problems

for the arbiters, having to rule to

such claims exactly in the most

critical moment of the games, when

their attention may be required

elsewhere.

However, as the move counter is not

in use, the clocks reaches the finish

of the main time and just keeps

going to the second period, only

displaying a flag for few moves

(better, few pressures).

A word by
Geert Bailleul

I would like to thank both
colleagues for expressing
their opinion regarding this
subject. I also would like to
open the discussion to all
other arbiters. For sure it will
be interesting to know what’s
the opinion of our colleagues
in Europe. So feel free to
react and express your own
opinion. Don’t hesitate to
send me your opinion by e-
mail!
geertbailleul@skynet.be
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This means that the players can

continue to play even if the game is

finished (with the loss of the player

who didn’t fulfil the time control),

because they don’t notice the flag to

have fallen or because they secretly

agreed on them, and after few

moves no one will be able to find out

what happened. Of course, when

there is a time trouble the arbiters

should check it, but we cannot be

sure all the game are controlled,

especially if the number of the

arbiters is not enough, comparing to

the number of the ongoing games. It

is really much easier to check

periodically the clock and be sure

they weren’t improperly used than to

check all the ongoing games at the

same time. For all this reasons I

definitely think we can use the move

counter and in certain circumstances

(for example junior tournaments and

championships) we should use it.”


